the whole world smiles with you

Guess who came to ballet class today?
A kid!
A girl, somewhere between age seven and age twelve.
I guess.
I can’t tell.
Anyway!
Smirnoff says to this kid, “I will ask you to do only one thing for me today, my Dear. The most important thing of all. You must Smile! Can you do this for me? Good! Now let’s get to work.”
Later at the barre he would call to her, “My Dear! Remember what you must do?”
And the kid would do that thing we all do when called out at the barre: run through her checklist.
Drop her shoulders, raise her chin, peek over at her thumbs, peek down at her little toes, pull her tummy in…
(reminds me of when you are holding a dog biscuit and asking a dog to a trick, like roll-over!, and the dog will roll over and then run through all it’s other tricks too, just in case)
…and then she’d remember and Big smile! And Smirnoff would say, “Yes! That’s it!” And we’ll all laugh and smile!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to the whole world smiles with you

  1. Its so true; you get to a point when your teacher just says your name you automatically know what to fix…

  2. lalatina says:

    Hi!

    I’ve been following your blog for some time now and I just catched up to your latest post today so, I want to say: respect! I’m amazed at how far you’ve gone :) I’m 23 now and doing ballet for only a year more or less, so when I read your post about you starting pointe I was like: wow! Amazing. I was so impressed :)

    You are an inspiration! I love ur drawings and how you write things, write a book I’d buy a copy :P haha!

    So, keep up the good work! :)
    Kisses from Europe!
    ps: i LOVE ur teacher & the post about the dinosaur lol :p

  3. mladen says:

    now this just made a lousy day a bit better. bring on the mushy cute stuff i simply love it!

Leave a Reply

