Don’t Hold Back

I like to chat with my teacher before class, before anyone else rolls in, because you just never know what the heck kinda crazy stuff the old man is gonna come out with.
I like to prompt him with a question. Set him off, see where he goes.
For example: “Do you teach a boys class?”

“Not today, today I teach an advanced class for young ladies…not a pointe class, but very advanced, (these are probably the type of students he would not allow on pointe until they have passed some set of criteria needed for their career developement, unlike me where he was mostly like, ‘sure, what the heck, let’s give it a whirl!’) …and then after that I have a class with the boys and the girls…Oh, these kids! These kids today! They just mark! Everything! Is marked! They never go for it, I spend half the class building them up like I am some kind of sport coach!”

Was relaying this conversation to Mr. Adult Beginner, and he was like, “what’s mark?”
And I was like, “oh right! Thats a ballet term, ha! I forgot! It’s like, do the motion of a thing, but without full power, kind of like making a note to your body so it’ll remember what to do later…”
And he was like, “oh, like rough-it-in”
“right”
“Mark it, Dude”
“Right!”

So, what was my point? Oh right- Don’t Hold Back, Gentle Reader.
Do like these kids here: be fearless, don’t hold back

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Hold Back

  1. PBG says:

    As soon as you said Don’t Hold Back, I started thinking Galvanize, and then I scrolled down and there it was.

    Spooooky.

  2. Jeff says:

    Nice! You give me the best things to think about during class. Now I’m going to be all, “Don’t hold back… galvanize! :)

  3. My ballet teacher gives us a hard time for always marking, too. I had no idea I was doing it! I thought I was conserving energy for the proper run-through.

  4. chrisgo says:

    Mark it eight, dude!

Leave a Reply

