The Nerve!

Omg, you guys-
There I was, in the embroidery aisle, finding a heavy thread to match the color of my pointe shoes,
(Ballet teacher has not remembered to bring in the thread he wants me to use for darning, so, you know, I’m taking matters into my own hands by buying two options of what I think is the stuff he’ll like and doing up a little sample for his approval so I can like get this show on the road already)
So there I was holding my pretty pretty satin shoe up to the rack of threads, draping this and that skein of cotton twist and embroidery floss over the shoe, satin ribbons a-dangling, absorbed in deciding between slight differences in peach and shell and petal, and-
No One Ran Over And Asked Me If I’m An OMG Ballerina!
No one! Not one person!
Can you believe it!
Gah!
The Nerve!

20110523-072202.jpg

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff, Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Nerve!

  1. drumlinIRL says:

    Hmmm, that does sound very impolite of the other craft-store-goers…

    I’m sorry for your loss, you should go ask random people, that way you maximize your exposure ;-)

    In the words of the immortal Bon Qui Qui, “rude, RUDE!”

    Hope the darning goes well :-)

    @drumlinIRL

  2. odile says:

    If you can find it, maybe on e-Bay or in your grandma’s attic, DMC and Coates and Clark used to make darning yarn. That’s the proper stuff to use. It’s a lightweight wool, and grips the platform well. You probably won’t be able to find anything peach. Beige or ecru works fine. Again, IF you can find the stuff. Freed had some kind of thread on their website, if I remember correctly it was a bedspread cotton, maybe 1-0 size. It was peachy, but probably didn’t match the shoes. It doesn’t really matter–the darning will get grubby by the end of the first class. And since you only darn the platform, the color doesn’t have to match; close-enough will do. I’d shy away from bright red or navy blue, though!

    • Smirnoff is gunning for cotton. Cotton everything, he’s got this whole theory about how wool is appropriate for cold wet climates where you want to hold in heat but only cotton for us desert climate types. Makes ok sense for padding the feet but zero sense for darning! I mean, heat-smeat, whatever I use is gonna take a beating, seems like a poly-cotton would be better than pure cotton. But what-evs, gonna do it his way this time, look out for wool or some such next time.

  3. Laura says:

    Look on the bright side: no one came up and said “Oh, are those your daughter’s shoes?”

  4. Catchip says:

    Love this! I am absolutely not a ballerina, but have been known to swan around theatre lobbies with my hair in a bun in the hopes that someone will ask, “Are you a dancer?” It worked once!! At least it’s good for the posture…

  5. Jeong says:

    I heard that crochet threads are quite good for pointe shoes. But you know that you could buy special threads and needles from bunhead..

  6. They were probably too intimidated by your ballerina-ness to ask. And they probably thought it was an obvious Yes :)

  7. flyingwind66 says:

    I (and a lot of others) use dental floss to be honest haha teacher recommended it because it’s ‘sturdier’

Leave a Reply

