Sturdiness. It has it’s benefits.

He said yes!
Marched up after the reverénce and asked Smirnoff if I may join the pointe class, and he said yes!
And his assistant said, “I’m sure you can do pointe as well as any other.”
Gentle Reader, I want to grab strangers off the sidewalk and shake them and yell into their ears,
“As Well as Any Other! Did you hear that?! ANY OTHER!!!!!!!!”
It’s like, what’s the opposite of damning with faint praise? Like, elating with faint praise? Head a-splode with faint praise? Saying the best thing evar with faint praise?
She also pointed out that I am sturdy.
(grabs stranger) “Did You Hear That?! (shakeshakeshake) STURDY!!! (screams in ear) What every girl LONGS TO HEAR!!!!!!”
Heh.
But any way, yeah, he said yes. He said I may not be able to get shoes in time for this week though. And I was like, ok but once I get shoes?! and he was like well yes of course.
Not sure if he realizes that I was asking permission, almost like asking for his blessing, and that it’s kind of blowing my mind that it was granted.
But, you know, I kept it together.
(be cool, Adult Beginner, be cool)
Also: ready for big excitement?: his assistant is going to come with me to help me select shoes.
Its just gonna be me and my elderly, heavily made-up, heavily perfumed, former ballerina gal pal, out for a little shoe shopping.
Aw yeah.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Sturdiness. It has it’s benefits.

  1. Mariyah says:

    Congratulaaaaatiooooooons!!
    I’m so happy for you!!

    I’ve been doing ballet for more than 3 years now, and our teacher asked us last year whether we would be interested in pointe “next year”. So that would be this year. But right now we are busy with rehearsals and some more beginners have joined the class. I have almost no hope left that we will start pointe some day. :(

    • Remind your teacher that you want it!
      This pointe class I’ll be joining has only existed for a couple months after at least six long months of talk about whether enough people wanted to and whether there was a time and a room available at the studio and would that time match with people’s schedules and blah blah blah, but the pointe-class-buzz was constant enough that it eventually happened.

  2. yaaaay! congratulations! i’m super jealous but you’ve given me hope that i’ll be hearing those magic words in a year or two!

  3. Jen says:

    Hee hee, sooooo excited for you!! Congrats, congrats, congrats! Your blog entries just make my day <3

  4. roriroars says:

    Sturdy is good… wilting flowers do not go en pointe (or, well, they shouldn’t).

  5. amy says:

    That is sooo exciting!!!!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about your shoe fitting experience. I think someone else already mentioned this but Lisa Howell’s website and videos, along with her Perfect Pointe Book exercises, really helped me a lot.

    • Thanks!
      Love Lisa Howell’s YouTube clips. Ah that voice. Just lovely. The book/ebook look really excellent but I must admit I’m balking at the price. Got the new homeowner blues. Attention house: don’t be a money-pit! Mamma needs to buy herself some pretty pretty things!

  6. mladen says:

    congrats! really looking forward to your future posts on pointe dancing!

    personally, i was relieved when i found out guys don’t (usually) dance in bear-trap pointe shoes…

  7. Laura says:

    Woohoo! Congrats! Can’t wait to read about the shoe-shopping excursion.

  8. chrisgo1 says:

    This is too cool!! I can’t wait to read about your adventures en pointe.

  9. Janet says:

    It sounds like things have changed since your Feb post regarding going on pointe. Have fun shopping for your shoes. Planning on getting some padding (ouch pouch)? I am looking forward to hearing about your continued adventures in ballet!

  10. Acacia says:

    Mazel tov! Congratulations and don’t leave out anything about your adventures en pointe!

  11. PBG says:

    That’s so great, AB! And it inspired me, too. I marched up to my teacher after class today and asked if I could try out pointe this summer – and she said yes too!

    So I get to go shoe shopping too.

  12. Mara says:

    Omg! Oh My God!!!!!!!

    Are you serious?! Of course you are, one doesn’t kid around about going en pointe. Oh My Freakin’ God!

    I’m so excited for you I can’t even believe it. CONGRATULATIONS!! I have no words

    • Yeah, Seriously, one does not joke around about going en pointe. Which is why I made sure to get my teacher’s full attention and specifically ask him. I was like, Don’t toy with my emotions, Old Man!

  13. Kylara7 says:

    Congrats! I am right there with you, about to start pointe next month. I have had an education and much turmoil with the shoe shopping and pointe fitting process though…I have weird feet and am also super-analytical and knowledgeable about my own body so I have been able to discern a good fitter from one who is not exactly on par and trying to sell me something that is not going to work. And the expense…*yikes*. Still, I am super excited and looking forward to new torture :)

    Hooray for adult beginners and milestones!

    • Cheers and hooray!
      Hmm. Will be interesting to find out if I have weird feet or not. No idea. But I guess if they were super-weird I would know by now.
      But yeah, I’m really glad I’ll have someone with me who has worn the damned things before and can boss the shoe-fitter-on person around.

      • candice says:

        Congrats!
        Fortunately there are tons and tons of styles of shoe to try on even if you do have weird feet. Don’t get frustrated if you have to try on twenty pairs – that is fairly normal.

        I get to go back to pointe tomorrow – been off for a month. The pirouette, it will have disappeared again…

      • guinever says:

        There have been so many comments on your blog where I have just wanted to check “like” as if it were on facebook. But alas, no such luck. If there were a like button or even better “a ROFLMAO button,” I’d have checked it about a hundred comments by now. Your “boss the shoe-fitter-on person around” I just had to respond and tell you I like. I like.

  14. Jeff says:

    Go you! (First-time commenter here and adult soon-to-be ballet beginner!) :)

  15. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU! Though not at all surprised! I look forward to your post about the pointe shoe shopping escapade!

  16. Pingback: O hai pointe shoes | Adult Beginner

  17. I loved reading your post and hope that one day I will be in your spot! I danced ballet as a child but quit before I got on pointe. Now I am back as an adult beginner. I’ve only been dancing for 2 months but I have a lot of ambition! I did ask my teacher if it would be a possibility eventually. He said he doesn’t teach pointe to adults and said that you don’t need them to dance ballet. I completely understand, but its a goal and dream of mine to dance on pointe. Apparently there are other schools around that offer it, but I think ill wait until I am strong enough and have enough technique. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

