What it is.

Last week:
one class with a perfectly balance pirouette,
one class with the wobbling. Which was fine. Didn’t expect a pirouette that second class. Allergy meds, you know.

Tomorrow: Could pretend to be all yoga about it and say ballet is a journey not a destination, and it’s not about quantity it’s about quality, but I say fuck that noise.
Pirouette.
Another one.
Want.

It’s all about the pirouette.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What it is.

  1. Juliet says:

    Ha. I think that’s understandable :) Just keep swimming :) I bet you will be pirouette-ing beautifully and nicely balanced every try pretty soon!

  2. Sarah Dani says:

    I totally understand how you feel! I’ve been dancing forever and ever, but there are still things that I cannot achieve!

  3. Acacia says:

    Go get it girl!

  4. Aaaaaaaand guess who had to work late and missed ballet class.
    That’s fine, Pirouette. I’ll get you next time.
    Mu-hahahaaa.

  5. Pirouettes always astound me. One day it clicks and I’m spinning and nothing in the world can stop me. I feel like a wooden dreidel (sp?) spun just perfectly right.

    Then, the next day, I’ll be a sloppy, wavering loser with absolutely no sense of centeredness.

    I feel like, with pirouettes, it’s two steps forward and one step back. I suppose that’s good enough for me, as I keep trying.

  6. Pirouette Update:
    haven’t had another easy, casual, effortless pirouette just yet, where I just went around like, ‘oh hai pirouette’.
    No, in contrast last class felt like I was going super fast in the pirouettes. Weird and almost scary but really powerful, like I’d rocket out a one and a quarter circle and then fall out of balance, grab the barre, and think, ‘holycrap, what was that?!’
    And then do it three more times with the same hyper-speed feeling, one and a quarter circle, and desperate grab for the barre.
    ???

Leave a Reply

