A tendu correction

Another small ballet class.
Just two of us, plus teacher.
Which means increased scrutiny, which means really specific corrections.
Which is great.
For example, we do a barre exercise that is:
tenduuuu pasjetépasjetépasjeté!
The pas jetés are quick little kicks! Bam!bam!bam! With emphasis on the inward stroke and a pause at the end, I love them because they are very controlled and severe. In in in! Or else they get sloppy. No one likes a sloppy barre.
I don’t pay much attention to the tendu at the beginning, because in my mind I’ve already skipped ahead to the fast fun part, and I’m sure my teacher can see this, because he gave me a great correction.
He told me to keep the tendu short, and think of lifting my heel up.
I’ve always thought of pushing the heel forward.
So this time, I thought about the heel going up and it looked So Awesome!!!
Somehow just that little change in mental imagery and it was like, daaaaaaaang, hey there ballerina foot! Lookin’ guuuuud. Aw yeah, Girl, you know it!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A tendu correction

  1. Acacia says:

    Yay! You rock!

    We did tendu and little kicks (she didn’t refer to them as pasjete but it kind of sounds like it) last night. She emphasized the leg “popping” up. They were fun, but I’m don’t yet have the strength for the precision you have.

  2. Laura says:

    Is pas jeté like a dégagé with the accent on the “in”? I love doing those.

    The “heel up” vs. “heel forward” thing makes tons of sense to me–thanks for sharing it.

  3. Look out, Gentle Reader! I mis-spoke!
    It was battemont jeté, not pas de jeté. Because battemont means beaten and that’s what we do at the barre. Beat exercises.
    To death!
    Whereas pas means step, which indicates traveling.
    Wrote a post about the five types of jump and then apparently the information totally exited the building. And by building I mean my head.

  4. Johanna says:

    Another great post and excellent correction!
    Be really careful though that your foot doesn´t sickle in the effort to “lift up”. That is one banana you do not want to see! But I´m sure your teacher is taking care of this, as is mine.. In fact it´s the reprimand/correction I keep getting the most. Somehow I have a hard time feeling the proper alignment from heel to first toe. Although it is a very small banana, and under control in slow tendus/jetés – but not so much in quicker steps. And don´t discard the “heel forward” -image. You still need that for the supporting leg, especially in the center.

    Reading about your “in-in-in”, I was immediately transported back to my class! There is such a difference to the quality of the steps. I mean we are working on our technique and giving our muscles a workout, but it´s not like going to the gym. Feet are meant to articulate, to express and to dance!

    This came out longer than I intended.. Looks like I´m ready for another post of my own ;) Keep up the good work, Advanced Adult Beginner!

  5. Ruth says:

    I wish I could take classes like I used to but we just don’t have the money. I just replaced my barre at our apartment. I got a Health Mark Ballet Barre. It replaced one I had from 1998 and it wasn’t at sturdy as this one. I go through most of the barre exercises I learned in my early 20’s trying to build strength and reading stuff like your posts to remind me of corrections! Your blog is inspiration to keep at it :)

    • I hear you with the money thing. There are at least four classes I would like to take per week, but seems two is more realistic right now.
      Oh ballet! Why are you so not for free?
      How do you like your new barre?
      I’m hoping to get one in house eventually!
      I’ve been wondering if there’s any such thing as a free/cheap ballet podcast. Think I’ll ask the twitter.
      Let you know if I get any good results.

      • Ruth says:

        I like the Health Mark ballet barre. It did take me a while to put together. The bar that you hold to practice comes in three pieces-so you have to screw them together. I screwed them as tight as they would go. The vertical sides screw into the bar from underneath, which is a little difficult to do, and the wholes for the screws in the left side didn’t match up-so I had to unscrew that side of the bar a little to get the wholes to line up. It was a bit frustrating putting it together but I looked all over online and can’t find anything better for that price, 175.00 – and the others I’ve seen seem more or just as complicated to assemble. The Vita Vibe barre was too light for me so I passed on that one for that reason.
        I’ve used my Health Mark a few times to practice. It is very sturdy! It’s heavy so, if I lose my balance a little- I can’t lift it up. I’m happy with it. I think it’s worth the trouble of putting together and taking apart. I have to have a ballet barre at home-definite necessity! :)

Leave a Reply

