Happy Sad Happy Sad

It is all ups and downs in Adult Beginner Land tonight.
There is a new girl in class who is very slim and pretty, and I feel jealous about that.
But pretty things make me happy, so I’m also glad about that.
She is new to ballet, so she gets most of the corrections, and I feel a little jealous that it’s no longer me getting most of the corrections. But also happy that I don’t needthe most corrections anymore.
Sad that I’m not able take class more often than twice a week. Would improve faster with more frequent classes. But, had a moment at the barre today where out of nowhere I was suddenly grinning and thinking, “I’m doing ballet!!! Yes! I get to do it again later on this week! Yay!!!”
And that’s, like, important. That yay feeling.
Happy that my teacher trusts me to lead the back of the barre when the most experienced girls aren’t there.
Sad that I’m so goofy in center. Still.
Happy that if I were to get in a time machine and take class with Adult Beginner circa March 2010, I would be totally better than her at Everything!
In your face, Adult Beginner March 2010!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Sad Happy Sad

  1. balletnerd says:

    It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that feels a bit goofy, if not down right ridiculous in center. The barre is starting to work itself out, but center remains a pretty funny sight.

  2. Johanna says:

    I think you should remove the beginner from your Adult Beginner Land. Otherwise I have illegal alien status! You should just call it Adult Dancer Land, ´cause that happy-sad -song sure is the right anthem for us all :) I feel for you, I really do! In fact you inspired me to write my own version:
    Where is Terpsichore When You Need Her?

Leave a Reply

