Why, when I was your age

The other day before class we were all standing around at the barre, doing little ankle cirlces and calf-raises and complaining about how chilly it’s been outside lately and how cold we are.
And Sminoff totally busted out the, “You kids have it easy!”
He was all,
“When I was boy, in Russia, it was forty degrees below zero! And we didn’t have these things you have- no “leg” “warmers”, no “tights”, just pants or leotards and cotton socks under our slippers! And we did every exercise with a relevé! Tendu on relevé! Battemont jeté with a relevé! Imagine that, with cold legs!”
And we were like, ‘yeah yeah, And you had to walk your dinosaur through the snow barefoot to get to school.’

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why, when I was your age

  1. Marie says:

    Haha :D :D
    Amazing point! This is exactly what I think when older people say- everything is easier for you now….. blablabla

  2. poogleypie says:

    love your blog – absolutely hilarious! have been thinking about going back to ballet as an adult beginner, but till I get around to it, I’ll just live vicariously thru your blog :)

    • Well, Poogleypie, I’m happy to be your awkward, goofy proxy, but really, the world needs more awkward, goofy, excitable, enthusiastic beginner types, don’t you think? So I encourage you to get around to it!

  3. I wuv your brontosaurus! (Or is he a diplodocus?) Where’d you find ‘im?

    • I like to think he’s a brontosaurus!
      They are my favorite because even though brontosauruses are the result of putting the wrong Dino head with wrong Dino body, the shape is so appealing and iconic. They’ve been debunked as dinosaurs, but people refuse to let the brontosaurus go.
      This little guy belongs to my husband and was made by Gund.

  4. Bonnie says:

    Funny!!…….But this is so true . Older people always have stories of how things were difficult in their times.

Leave a Reply

