Look out, Pirouettes, here I come.

As of today I’ve officially lost those five pounds that were keeping me from doing a pirouette.
In your face, Pirouettes!
Nothing can stop me now!
Except gravity!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class, the Body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Look out, Pirouettes, here I come.

  1. Alli says:

    I find that having strong abs really helps my turns.

    When I was a teen (and I could have eaten at McD’s every night and still been in shape), I didn’t have problems with strength/balance/focus needed for pirouettes. As an Old Lady (comparatively speaking, of course. I’m 30 and my class mates are 15-17) I have a much harder time maintaining myself for turns. I find good ole-fashion situps do the trick. That way, just as I’m preparing for the turn in class, I activate my abdominal muscles and it seems to help me turn more effectively.

    Its funny how I never had to worry about that before – teenage brute strength kept me from falling on my keester. Now, my body demands more finesse. :)

  2. Congratulations on reaching your goal :)

Leave a Reply

