The Adult Beginner makes a Bold Prediction

Lately in class instead of-
developé to the side, fondue, kick out to the front and immediately keel over with a violent unpredictability, threatening bodily harm to myself and my long suffering barre-mates and maybe even the people out in the hallway, ending with both feet coming down hard on the floor any-which-a-way,
instead of that-
it’s developé side, fondue, pause, gather myself, turn my head, ready my arm, and then drive my supporting heel down hard to pop it back up while I pull up and whip everything around for a quick save by grabbing the barre, followed by the happy discovery that my working leg managed to stay in passé and my supporting leg is still in relevé!
Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So here’s my Bold Prediction:
I predict that I will pirouette in one month.
A real, proper, correct pirouette.
One month.
!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Adult Beginner makes a Bold Prediction

  1. Jen says:

    Oooh, exciting! Congrats!!

    I have a feeling you might be able to do one sooner! ;-)

  2. wobinob says:

    Good luck with it!!! My en dehor piroutte to the right side is better than to the left. :/ Wish I could even them out!

  3. Maria says:

    I wish you good luck with your pirouettes! :)
    Just wanted to tell you that I love your blog, keep on posting!
    I’m an adult beginner myself, I started three years ago when I was 24.

  4. Fayet says:

    Yay, great to hear you’re coming closer to win over the beast called “Pirouette”. It’s dang hard, but worth it in the end.. I (Adult Beginner, four years of training) am constantly fighting it myself. You can do it! I’m looking forward to read your sucess message.. maybe even sooner than in a month?

    By the way, I love your blog! It’s a huge encouragment to dance, no matter what.

  5. Yay, thanks you guys!

  6. So, in class, as the pirouette music started, I thought, “maybe today is the day that I will get to post about defeating pirouette!!!!!”
    But it wasn’t the day.
    But it felt good to know you guys are on my side in the War On Pirouettes.
    Thanks again for the encouragement

Leave a Reply

