What you lookin’ at?

The Mirror.
Is there so I can check myself.
That’s the reason it’s in the studio.
But-
I feel so weird just staring away at myself!
Especially with other people around!
I mean, well-mannered people just do not gaze at their own reflections for upwards of two hours at a stretch!
There was a guy who did that back in the day, and his name was Narcissus, and he starved to death while gazing at his own reflection in a pond, and then they named narcissism after him.
Right? Who needs that!
But that kind of thinking doesn’t improve my attitúde.
So I’m working on using the mirror, not just taking the occasional lightning-fast peek at it.
It’s hard trying to remember that the mirror is a tool for all of us to use to improve our technique.
Not proof of my Massive All-Consuming Vanity.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What you lookin’ at?

  1. bead109 says:

    Something that professional dancers probably don’t even think about! I am still not used to staring at myself in the mirror. It is one of the most uncomfortable things about dance class… even more so than convertible tights!

  2. I, on the contrary, love checking myself during class. I think that is the best way to check my alignment, turn out, how i look onstage, sometimes, remind myself to lose the extra pound… i dunno. I find it is normal for me. =)

  3. Hey, that’s not true professionals don’t ever think about how wierd it is to spend like the whole day watching yourself in the mirror! I even wrote a post on it a way back:

    http://www.tightsandtiaras.com/2010/02/tools-of-the-trade-ballet-3-mirrors/

    It is kind of sick, tho’…
    ;)

Leave a Reply

