Straighten Up and fly right

One of the freaky things about studying ballet is when you find yourself equating posture with personality.
For example:
You’re pulling your shoulders down and holding your head high and your chin is level, and you’re regarding the back of the girl in front of you at the barre with a cool and haughty gaze, and you catch a glimpse of yourself in the mirror, and you think, “Who is that, omg it’s me? I’m not awesome enough to stand like that, I’m not cool and haughty.” or even, “if anyone sees me looking all regal like this they’re gonna take me down a peg.”
That’s the voice of Middleschool Looser. She still lives back in the back of my head. Luckily for me and the rest of the world Middleschool Looser gave way to Art Girl Who Never Talks, who eventually evolved into the Adult Beginner.
As soon as Middleschool Looser starts talking I tuck my chin back down and loose the correct posture.
And that’s the crazy thing, that posture appears all regal and haughty and assured, but really it’s just posture. It reflects more about what my teacher has told me to do physically than what’s going on with me emotionally.
So I don’t need to be all weird about it.
Are you listening, Shoulders? Neck?
Chin, I’m talking to you, too.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

