Tendonitis, bitches!

Feeling tired and cranky and there’s a bag of ice on my foot.
Apparently I’m not built like a horse, which is good news, because if I was a horse I’d be shot and on my way to the glue factory.
So, I’m sitting on the table at the Dr’s, and he’s holding my leg and rolling the foot, and then bending my toe joints down, all the while asking did I fall in ballet class? And I’m explaining, no, I just Took ballet class. Just took a Lot of ballet class. Just took a week of daily ballet classes after seven months of twice weekly ballet classes. And then he bends the toe joints side to side, and then up, and I’m like, “Oh, ow, there it is that’s it stop it now.”
So he says, “tendonitis. Let’s do some X-rays just to be sure.”
Three x-rays later, he confirms, toes not broken, tendons just inflamed and swelling.
So, class twice a week for seven months is not enough training for a week of daily class plus walking all over Manhattan.
He does not give me my x-rays to take home. Darn.
Really glad it wasn’t broken because telling people I broke my foot by taking Not-Even-Beginner level ballet would’ve been soooooooo laaaaaaaaame, I would’ve died you guys.
So my immediate future is an ace bandage, strong aspirin for pain and swelling twice a day, ice, and keeping it elevated whenever possible.
It’s supposed to be all better with in the week, but no ballet class for two weeks.
Dr. was concerned that all that going up on the toes could re-injure the tendons. Didn’t have the strength to tell him I don’t even do pointe work.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tendonitis, bitches!

  1. Dorothy says:

    OMG. Adult Beginner on pointe! Imagine!

    Srsly, though, it’s sorta hot that you came to NY and danced yourself so hard you gave yourself a diagnosable injury. so Chorus Line.

  2. Pingback: Adult Beginner has a melodrama of a day | Adult Beginner

  3. Pingback: Fear. The other eff word. | Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

