Everything I do, ohhhhhh, I do it for you

I’ve come to the conclusion that all the older ladies who take basic ballet here in New York City are laaaaaaaaame.
Exhibit A: overheard at the bathroom sinks after class:
Two women congratulating themselves to each other: “oh, I do this for Me.” “oh Me Too, this is something I do for Me.” Meanwhile the Adult Beginner is also at the sink thinking, ‘Duh, of course you do it for for you, who else would you be doing it for? The Government? Science? Planet Earth? No, of course not, of course you do this for you. In fact, name me one thing you Don’t do for you. And don’t say you do things for your children, because you made those children for you, and the things you do for them you are doing for you. So yeah, you take the train into the city to take basic ballet class For You, big whoop.’
Exhibit B: for contrast, twenty-something dudes in the hallway,
“Girl, we are late, they started barre!” “Girl that’s all right, I warmed up already. In a hot tub!” “Yeah?!” “No!” “Ha hahahaha!”
Exhibit C: lady stretching beside me,
“Hey,” she says to me, “have you ever taken the beginner class at the Joffrey? Because there is this one teacher there that is just terrible, she does this wrong and this wrong and this wrong and blah blah blah blah…” until I cram my fingers into my ears and run screaming out of the room.
Next day I see that she’s cornered Highball and is going on about this other terrible class. Highball suggests another class at another studio on another day. She launches into, “but no I can’t go that day because I care for my mother and I can’t go on that day because I have to do the shopping and the dinner and cleaning and Mr. Whiskers can’t be left alone so long, and listen to me go on about my miserable life blah blah blah blah…” until Highball raises a hard in a very final gesture, repeats the studio name and class times, wishes her luck, and runs screaming down the hall with his fingers crammed in his ears.
Day after that she’s stretching after class, telling the woman next to her how the Obama Healthcare Plan is going to Ruin Everything.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark!, the stuff drawer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

