Julian, take off the red shoes

Couple days ago the Adult Beginner was on an airplane, watching The Red Shoes.

Mr. Adult Beginner put it on my ipad for me because 1: he is a thoughtful husband and 2: me having it at my disposal means I’m less likely to insist we watch it together at home some night. Verrrry clever.

I’ve seen The Red Shoes once before. On video. On a video of such decrepitude that the tape had worn through at the climactic death scene so I had no idea how Victoria Page ended up under that train.

Oh, come on, don’t yell spoiler alert! This movie is like a million years old!

And, to be honest, I’m still not sure why she took that leap. Maybe the shoes did it. Hmmm.

She had some hilarious outfits. Such as: the tights, toe-shoes, shoulder-padded wrap-sweater. That one’s a hard sell. Kinda looked like she was almost ready for football but got distracted when it was pants putting-on time.

If you haven’t seen it you should definitely get your husband to put it on your ipad and then fly somewhere and watch it. The ballet with-in the movie has some really excellent reality-defying special effects which I’m sure were super awesome cutting edge at the time. Like when she’s jumps into the shoes!
Oh stop yelling spoiler alert!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Movies, tv, and live stuff, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Julian, take off the red shoes

  1. Jenii says:

    I love The Red Shoes, it’s what first got me interested in ballet. I wish they’d do the Red Shoes ballet as an actual ballet, it’d be fabulous.

    Cheers for the blog by the way, it’s brilliant and gives me new things to look up and learn about :).

Leave a Reply

