the Adult Beginner receives a complement

Recently I’ve arrived at the age of thirty-three.
The Thirty-Three train has come around the bend.
Woo woo!
My birthday found me at the barre between Kir and Tequila.
Smirnoff laughs and calls out that it’s too bad for me when I’m in a class with just Kir and Tequila, since they’re both so advanced and I’m still learning.
I’m sweating, kind of a lot, and trying to catch my breath, but manage to gasp out that it’s incredibly helpful to have such good examples.
Kir rests in a perfect fifth position and volunteers that I’m doing really well.
And Tequila, balancing on a high arched half-toe, adds that I am “Not lazy.”

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the Adult Beginner receives a complement

  1. Pingback: Adult Beginner: now slightly more adult | Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

