Pirouettes of Doom!

Pirouettes are from the devil. For realz.
Like, Ol’ Scratch was sitting around one day and turned to his demon entourage and said, “Jeez, stop twiddling your pitchforks and do something! What am I paying you for anyway? Your good looks? No! Come up with something to bother the Adult Beginner, why don’t cha? That girl is way too chipper. And get me a sandwich! With extra mayo!”
I’ve heard that some people are natural turners, and as far as I’m concerned they can all take a long twirl off a short pier.
Well, ok, to be honest, I’m just cranky because I had decided that I was going to be a natural turner. And I was totally wrong!
Dang!
Anyway, so during barre we do pirouettes en dehors and en dedans.
En dehors mean outward, away from the midline of the body, and sounds like “on day oar”. Several teachers have given me the mnemonic “open the door” for en dehors, because you only open doors outward, apparently.
En dedans means inward, and it sounds like “on day don”. No teacher has ever given me a mnemonic for en dedans.
So I made one up!
Here it is folks!
En dedans is Eat Bon-Bons. Because you bring bon-bons inward, toward you body!
Right?
So later in class we’re in the center, doing pirouettes. I keep trying to sneak my arm back, to wind up for the turn, and Smirnoff keeps telling me to keep it at my side, no further back. Finally I ask where the turn comes from, if not from winding up my arms? And he says I must use my arms, but only from the side, no more. He says the way I’m winding up is like I’m preparing for fifty pirouettes. He says first I must do one correctly, then we’ll see about the other forty-nine.
Sometimes I think I should practice at home, but then I remember that the only non-carpeted rooms are the bathroom and the kitchen. And they are tiny. I’d probably end up in the oven.
I’m going to work it out someday. Can’t let the devil’s entourage win.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pirouettes of Doom!

  1. Nikki says:

    Please come to my house to “eat bon bons” we currently have a huge non-carpeted studio in our living room. Perfect for the 50 pirouettes you need to do. Also afterwards you can drink our fridge full of alcohol and eat some ice cream…What the devil doesn’t tell you is that good looks come from ice cream. SPECIFICALLY ice cream from someone moving out. Sadly, I only speak the truth. Excited to keep reading your blog.

  2. roriroars says:

    I am totally going to use “eat bon-bons” when I teach my class about “en dedans.”

  3. Pingback: Mnemonic The Third | Adult Beginner

  4. Super late to the party here, but my teacher used to say “en dehors.. out the door” and “en dedans… come in John” – I much prefer “eat bon bons”! Going to steal for my classes :)

    • Please do steal it, I’ll be so thrilled if someday it works it’s way around and I actually hear somebody use it out loud in class.
      “Come in John” is kind of clunky, but I give major high fives to your teacher for at least using something, clunky or not. Every teacher I’ve had has said “en dehors is out the door, there’s nothing for en dedans.”

  5. d1a2n3e4 says:

    I’m also super late here, but due to your lovely reminder, Adultbeginner, I just found it! Wonderful idea! I admit to being one of those unimaginative teachers who have said, “en dehors, out the door” (in English, though I teach in another language :P ) and then, “en dedans – the other way”.
    -sigh-
    This one is so, so much nicer! (I’ll still use it in English – it rhymes better :p )
    So, cheers and thanks!

  6. Holly says:

    I’m beyond late to the party, but the one I’ve always heard for En Dedans is “in they come”. It’s not a perfect rhyme but somehow it stuck!

  7. Jo says:

    I remember it as dee whores lay on their backs so my leg is going backwards! >.<

Leave a Reply

