Dirty dirty slippers

These are my shoes. See how dirty they are? Dirty.
After class, while we’re all converting our full-foot tights into leggings and stepping into skirts, I ask the girls if I can clean my shoes? Like with a sponge maybe? Do people do that?
And they are confused.
Are my shoes scratchy? Do they hurt my feet? Why do I want to wash them?
And I gesture to the vasty array of black smudges from my knee to my ankle.
And they say, “Oh that? Girl, that mess is a badge of honor! It just shows you’re working. Wear those dirty tights with pride.”
And they also explain that water releases the glue at the toes.
So washing is right out.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in OMG outfits you guys! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dirty dirty slippers

  1. lnelson1 says:

    Found this one out the hard way… I didn’t ask, I just washed them and they stiffened up and fell apart. Opps!

  2. Kato says:

    I was thinking out loud one day at the studio on how my shoes looked like had drug them behind my car for a few days and was wondering if I should get new pair. I’ve worn through the toes and and other parts of the canvas slipper. Much to my surprise everyone told me that they were a badge of honor and you should be worn as long as possible. Several classes later I still have them and a second pair in a different color in much the same condition. We will see how many classes it takes before they both fall apart, nothing left but the elestatic straps (which have been replaced) remain. Tights and stuff can come and go, but these shoes are in it for the long haul!
    I love your site, I too am an adult beginner who just can’t get enough.

Leave a Reply

