Revved up for the reverénce

You know what’s awesome?
The reverénce.
The reverénce is awesome.
I mean, every type of exercise class has an ending ritual, sure. You got your stretching at the end of spin class, you got your shivasanna to close a yoga class, and those are nice and all but they don’t Kick Ass like doing an enormous bow to an imaginary audience.
The imaginary audience behind the mirror is totally on their feet, flinging roses at you and your classmates, whistling, shouting, breaking chairs, tearing the place apart, their minds totally blown at how you almost did a pirouette, how rad your hip-level-at-most extension was, how you didn’t crash into anyone during the chainés even though you came close but that doesn’t matter because You Totally Rock,
Wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Yeah!
That is what I’m talking about!
When I was in the City That Begins With a B, (btw, not there anymore. Been back for weeks, catch up why don’tcha?) the ballet class ended with clapping.
Clapping! Can you believe? It was like, what is this, Low Impact Aerobics?! Shuh! If I wanted to clap I would go, uh, watch, uh, some kind of sporting event or something. But that’s not the point! The point is the reverénce beats the pants off clapping, stretching, or lying on the floor with your eyes closed trying not to think thoughts!
And I have thought so ever since that first ballet class when Sazerac explained what we were about to do, saying that a lot of teachers don’t bother with a reverénce anymore but that she sees it as a way to honor your effort, and to thank your teacher, and when she did it along with us I could see us thanking her, her thanking her teacher, her teacher thanking the teacher before, and on and on like The Infinite Cat Project of the ballet world.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Revved up for the reverénce

  1. Pingback: A question from a future adult beginner | Adult Beginner

  2. Alicia says:

    I feel the same! :)

  3. Jecca says:

    No reverence, only applause, at the (awesome!) small-town studio where I’m taking class. I miss reverence very very much. :/

  4. Lee says:

    Dear Adult Beginner,
    I’ve found your blog lately, and it’s awesome!
    I am an adult beginner myself (started at 41 years old), and I love to read yor stuff. So good and funny!
    This post made me laugh so much, I have tears in my eyes.
    By the way, I love the reverence part very much – year, kind of makes me feel (a bit) like a real ballerina!

    • Thank you for reading! And I’m glad to hear you do the reverénce in your class, some teachers don’t bother, and it would be so sad to miss out on that ballerina moment.

Leave a Reply

