biscuit hooks

ok. So I have to work on my hands.

Got to class today and told Smirnoff that I’ll be leaving town. I’ll be in [city starting with the letter B] for a few weeks, but right back to class after that trip. He says that he loves [city starting with the letter B], it’s beautiful. We all line up at the barre and class starts.

He calls out to me, “My dear, we must relax our hands. The pinky must be lifted, and the rest of the hand soft. As though you are plucking a rose, and you hold it, with the thumb and third finger, yes? Mustn’t grip the rose with a fist, yes? This would crush the rose.”

Right. Got it. Don’t crush the rose.

“Also,” Smirnoff explains, ” The thumb. It mustn’t stick out, like a hitchhiker.” “Right!” his assistant calls out, “or you might catch a ride.”

And without missing a beat, “Yes!” shouts Smirnoff. “A ride to nowhere!”

Got it. Don’t catch ride to nowhere.

But later I’m busted! “My dear!” I hear directed especially at me, “Your left thumb, my dear. It is trying to catch a ride to [city starting with the letter B] without you! It will be waiting for you when you get there!”

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class, the Body and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to biscuit hooks

  1. Juliet says:

    I’m just reading through some of your old post. I love ballet teachers and their metaphors/similes. Always awesome. :)

Leave a Reply

