Pass the cat

Sazerac is back in town, and sent out a text asking who would like to come to class, and I was all like, “me! me! oh! memememe me!”

But no one else responded, so class was cancelled, and I was back to Vaganova with Smirnoff.

We did a cool move called “pah doo shahht”. Kind of a jump up and tuck one leg and then the other under your body, it was really fun. He had me follow Kir, and then do it by myself, and said that I was doing it well by going up, not to the side, because the move is like a cat, and a cat never jumps sideways, only up. Then a general discussion broke out about whether a cat would jump sideways if there was a big enough treat over there.

Five minutes latter I almost stopped the class to yell out, “OMG! I get it! You weren’t giving the cat as an example, It Means cat! Pas du chat! Pass of Cat!!!!”

drawn by Adult Beginner

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude, Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pass the cat

  1. Rachael says:

    hahaha just came across your blog… ive done ‘beginners’ ballet for 6 years now… and it never occured to me that it means pass of cat.. hahaha thanks!

  2. Kay says:

    hahah…well…step of the cat. “pas” means step or dance. hence pas de deux (dance for two) pas de cheval (step of the horse) pas de bourree (step of the bourree..what does bourree mean? and how do you spell it? do I remember that it means “flutter” oh the internet…so near, and yet so far)

    I’m sorry I don’t know why I decided to french snob comment on this post when probably you know the “pas” thing by now, two years of ballet into the future. I love your blog. I started taking adult ballet classes at age 14, but took year or two year breaks every so often…so now I’m 26 and back in adult beginning ballet and reading your blog from the beginning! maybe I will continue heckling your past self! :(

Leave a Reply

