Pardon my French

The only French I know is fashion French, and even that did not come easy.
For example, please enjoy this re-creation of a phone call I received from my best friend sometime during freshman year of college:
her: I have terrible news!
me: Oh no, what!
her: I just found out that it’s not pronounced “busteer”!
me: Whuh? How else could you pronounce bustier!
her: Aparently you’re supposed to say “boostie-ay”???
me: Ooooh noooooo!!!!!
her: Exactly!!!!!!!
So anyway.
I’ve discovered that ballet is full of French. Yeah, it’s all over the place. Sometimes after class I look words up and then cheer to my husband, “Hey! That thing that sounded like Baaaah-Maah? It was battemont! Isn’t that neat?!!!”
My absolute favorite new word is chaînés. Because everytime a teacher says to do chaînés, all I hear is a loud and sassy chorus of “Sha-Nay-Nay! Sashay Sha-Nay-Nay”!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

