Does your face hurt? ‘Cause it’s killing me

Got my wisdom teeth out.
Sucks for me but totally irrelevant to the blog-
Except:
Texting my husband about how oh btw no ballet class,
And he was like “What? Why? Oh right, you probably don’t want to jump right now.”
And I was like, “Or turn. Or spin. Or bend forward. Or backward. Or move fast. Or slow. In any direction.”
Had been cursing Past Self for not taking care of this during, like, summer break sometime when I could have laid around moaning and being cared for by my parents, but then thought about it and realized how Totally Annoying that would’ve been. I mean, at least now I like being holed-up in my own home. Back then it would’ve like to kilt me omg.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Does your face hurt? ‘Cause it’s killing me

  1. amanda says:

    Feel better! My stupid husband didn’t get any swelling when he had his out. Hope you get the same luck!

    For your get well amusement: I travel between my Pennsylvanian hometown and my new Virginian apartment pretty frequently. As a result I’ve been taking a lot of random ballet classes. In my head I now scope them out just in case the adult beginner ever decides to post reviews from the east coast!

  2. Janet says:

    Wisdom teeth = pain. I first saw the orthodontist when I was five. Cue many painful visits for extracting my baby teeth before they were ready to come out. Some taken out without warning or anesthesia on the pretext of an exam. Then the braces, and headgear, and retainers. Just before my nineteenth birthday, I made one more visit to the orthodontist. Oh, crap, my wisdom teeth were going to destroy all of those years of getting my teeth to fit in my mouth correctly. How had this DDS “forget” them? He had certainly looked in my mouth enough times. So off to the oral surgeon I went. All four impacted teeth out at once, as a birthday present. I had the full experience of chipmunk cheeks, bruising, and intense pain … again.
    I hope that you recover quickly, and take your pain med (even Tylenol or Advil) on a regular schedule. It takes twice as much medication to control pain if you let it get really bad. Better to keep it under control, and taper off by adjusting the dose then interval. (Practical advice learned over thirty four years as an RN, and personal experience).
    Love your blog and looking forward to reading all about your new pointe class.

  3. Paulina says:

    I hope you will feel better soon. Wisdom teeth can be terrible.

  4. Haha, at first I felt the same but after several days I simply had to go there even though it still did hurt.

  5. guyenne says:

    Hope you feel better soon. I think I remember huge ice pack saddle bags involved for wisdom teeth removal, along with a variety of soft things like rice pudding that weren’t usually on the menu.

    • There’s that sad moment where you realize the unthinkable has happened and you’re actually tired of ice cream, but still a few days off from real food. Don’t worry though, I rallied. Ice cream 4-ever.

  6. Meeegan says:

    Hoping you will have an easy recovery, and that Mr. AB will wait upon you hand and foot until you’re darned good and ready to go back to class!

    • Thanks Meeegan, Mr. AB did a great job. Totally took over baby bath and bedtime during that crucial phase when I was terrified the boy would head-butt me in the jaw with enthusiasm.

Leave a Reply

