Fixed Pointes

You know how you put on pointes by wrapping the ribbons around the ankle and tying a square knot, not in back or in front but at the inner side-back-ish area, right between the Achilles’ tendon and the ankle, so the knot can’t press on either?
First time I sewed my ribbons, I cut and melted them to the exact same length. Which meant once properly wrapped and knotted in the exact right spot, I was left with one nice short tail and one long obnoxious tail to tuck under and deal with and it annoyed me every time and I kept thinking I SHOULD FIX THIS.
So I finally did.
Put the pointes on, wrapped and tied, cut the tails even and melted the edges. While wearing them. Kids, don’t do this at home, the Adult Beginner is an impatient bad-ass, what have you got to prove?
The result is they are uneven when off, but perfection when on.
Also added some elastic across the front.
I know, that sheer elastic stuff is better, but I have an attitude problem about buying elastic. Elastic is always just there in my life, I refuse to go seeking special elastic all special mission style.

20140802-184458-67498280.jpg

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fixed Pointes

  1. Janet says:

    Where did the elastic go?

  2. I’m trying to figure out how to sew ribbons and elastics on now. Yeah, yeah, yeah, said I would wait but I’m an impatient bad-ass too and I can’t wait. Who was I kidding? Still watching video after video to try and get it right. :/ :D

  3. I use stretch ribbons which are stupidly difficult to untie so having an extra long tail is actually useful, you can just sort of slip-knot the whole shebang together. Then, of course, you have this bulky knot to hide, but seriously? It is totally worth it.

    • Stretch ribbons like they have a little stretchy part inserted in the ribbon? Or like the entire ribbon stretches? Do they feel like they hold you, or do you use addition elastic? Why? Who sold you on them? Explain!

  4. Paulina says:

    I got my first pointe shoes when I was 11. There were several pointe beginners in my class at that time, and I remember my teacher tied everbody’s ribbons first and then cut them to the right length.

Leave a Reply

