Happy 2014!!!!

The Adult Beginner is a little late with the New Year’s post, so here, I got you this card.

20140403-152401.jpg
Hahahaaaa!
You all have a four month head-start on the Adult Beginner, so how are those goals going? How’s the year shaping up?
My big goal for 2014 is to have a nice face.
No seriously,
I’m working on not making hideous grimaces in class.
It’s not easy! Those back-bends we do away from the barre especially, I’m trying to remember to ask my face to relax, and maybe even go for pleasant, instead of shaping itself into a Melodrama Of Anguish.
I think if I succeed with this it’ll be nicer for all of us.
On a related note, one of my non-ballet goals for 2014 is to learn to open champagne gracefully. I’d like to be the kind of woman who places her thumbs on the cork in a way that says, “I am looking forward to sparkling wine” not that says, “oh god, keep it away from my eyes, this thing’s gonna blow, everybody duck and cover.”
Probably will need lots of practice. I’m willing to put in the time.
Last year’s goal was to get back to being hot. Which sounds totally awful and superficial to just say right out like that, but before you judge remember that last year I was a new mom, dreaming of the day when I could get back into pants with closures, let alone pink tights.
So the progress on that is: I am back in pink tights, but sometimes I wear black leggings.
Hotness is relative, ballet class is awesome.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy 2014!!!!

  1. bookofballet says:

    One of my goals this year was to finish reading more books! I have a tendency to start a book, and then start another, and another, and never finish anything… Last year I finished 3 books total. I’ve already finished 3 this year, and I’m about halfway through Apollo’s Angels (that’ll be 4!), so goal nearly accomplished.

    Good luck getting your face to cooperate! I’ve got a long way to go on legs/arms/hips/everything before I get to worrying about the strange faces I make in class…

    • Oh no don’t get me wrong, there are so many things that I would like to achieve: flexibility, balance, keeping the heels forward, keeping weight forward, stamina, relaxed arms, spotting, pirouette, on and on. The face thing is kind of taking a break from all of that, still working on it of course because that’s what we do in class, but giving myself that overall goal of something more aesthetic than technical, it’s an interesting challenge and I’m hoping I can make it a habit to let my expression be separate from whatever struggle my legs are involved in. After all, scowling won’t improve my turn-out.
      Apollo’s Angels counts as at least two books though, right? So that’ll up your book-count nicely.

  2. Katy says:

    Happy New Year to you too, I suspect you may be in time for Persian New Year if you wanted to make it look planned.

    I also suspect that similar skills will be required for not gurning during cambres and opening champagne corks with aplomb. Something like remembering to breathe and relaxing the shoulders might be a good place to start (although I have to admit I’m only good at the champagne corks).

  3. nicola lynde says:

    Goals for me were my head/arms, but that face thing could be a welcomed addition. I think about it al during jumps, mainly because I see others anguished faces and realize it makes it all look soooo much harder.

  4. Nicola says:

    2014 -Working on enjoying pirouettes – including happy facial expression. At present I run the full gamut of agonized, seasick, and then astonished if I successfully land the thing (especially if it is a double). Training my self to 1) concentrate on the music (helps the happy- we do method acting) and 2) breathing in time to the pirouette. I can keep this up for the first few (and they tend to go okay), and then I founder as my mental state deteriorates. For some reason I love doing them from second, though. Maybe because I learned them later, so I never developed that feeling of hopeless ineptitude?

Leave a Reply

