Mr. Adult Beginner got me these way before the movie, ok?

20140201-174356.jpg
Wore these earrings to Giselle today.
Because the baby wasn’t there to make a grab for them,
And because I’m a dork.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mr. Adult Beginner got me these way before the movie, ok?

  1. Barbara says:

    I LOVE those. Where did you find them???

    • Some weirdo antique-and-doo-dad store in Cambridge (Massachusetts). I remember they also had a display box of glass eyes, like for an olde time optometrist or something.
      Mr. Adult Beginner switched out the earring hooks for nicer hooks, because he’s cool like that.

  2. Nadine says:

    Which production of Giselle did you see? Was it RNZB by any chance?

  3. jenerators says:

    were you aware that black swans actually do exist? And that they’re the state bird for Western Australia? (and that Perth, the state’s capital, was built on the Swan River, named after these black swans in particular?)

  4. jenerators says:

    S’okay. Just me spotting off about my hometown… And by the way my favourite retelling of a ballet story in a novel is Mercedes Lackey’s The Black Swan. Told from Odile’s point of view.

  5. RO says:

    Hope you enjoyed Giselle! Cool earrings ;-)

  6. Janet says:

    Love the earrings. Would a pair of Lilly earrings have been more “in tune” with the plant themes in Giselle? I am still trying to figure out if Myrtha is holding mistletoe branches or myrtle branches.

    • Yeah, really these earrings don’t relate to Giselle in any way except BALLET FOREVERRRRRR!
      I’ve heard Myrtha sometimes holds rosemary for remembrance.

      • Hmm I see we’re back to full ballet nerd-iness obssession, aren’t we? :)
        I thought I was the only one.

        • Janet says:

          Oh yeah, full nerd mode when it comes to Giselle. It all started in 1999 when someone asked the dancer cast as Myrtha what type of branches she was holding at a pre performance talk at SF Ballet. Dancer had no idea. Mary Wood, moderator and person with endless dance knowledge, did not answer the question either. So my curiosity was born. I had read about Rosemary, but have never been able to find that article again. Other sites say mistletoe or myrtle. So my search for the answer continues …

      • Janet says:

        Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

