No hugs for small trees

So, we’re doing pirouettes, and Smirnoff stops the music and calls out,
“My Dear! You must hold your arms Very Round to turn! Like you are hugging a tree! You must hug a Big Tree! Do not hug a small tree, you will fall back.”
And all I could think was:
grumble grumble I don’t even like this tree

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No hugs for small trees

  1. I love StrongBad! “He was a maaaaaan, he was a dragonnnn, he was a dragonmaaaaan”.

  2. Diane says:

    Too funny!
    I like it! It is a good picture.
    I often tell my students who tend to hold their arms too far to the side (not in pirouettes, but in 2nd) that they should be as if hugging a large tree – not trying to hug a wall.

Leave a Reply

