Pie, yo.

Went to a piyo class yesterday,
Aka Pilates-Yoga.
Haven’t done much Pilates.
Before ballet I totally didn’t get Pilates. Like, Pilates made no sense. Lying on a mat, doing leg-lifts, totally seemed like some kinda 1950′s housewife type exercise. Like, straight outta those vintage Glamour magazines I keep around for costume reference.
Also, made my neck hurt.
All that craning forward during the hundreds.
But this time!
This time it made sense!
This time the toes-pointed-at-all times thing just kinda happened, and they weren’t just pointed, they were pointed with the heel presented forward, at the end of nice turned-out legs, and I understood why the turn-out, and knew to keep my shoulders down and how to hold my core and how to not strain the neck,
It was awesome.
Plus it was the first time I’ve exercised in a non mommy-and-me type situation since The Kid was born. So, like, no worries in the back of my head that I’d have to stop doing hundreds to nurse or change a diaper. Ups to Mr. Adult Beginner for corralling the little man while I worked out.
The was one distraction though, one little bummer:
I totally want some of those Nike wrap things.
Don’t think they’d be particularly useful for ballet, like at all, but SO PRETTY for a Piyo class! To look up from the mat and see not just pointy feet, but ankles wrapped with ribbon?! Yes Ma’am/Sir!
Nike should totes send me a free pair.
For review purposes.
For science.
Not just because I want want.
You hearing me Nike?

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in ce n'est pas une mom blog, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Pie, yo.

  1. roriroars says:

    Those Nike things look intriguing, but I think if I saw them in person I’d have an uncontrollable urge to tuck the ends of the ribbon thing in.

  2. Nadine says:

    Wow, those Nike wrap shoes are GORGEOUS. :)

  3. Joyce says:

    Great, now i want those shoes too.
    They remind me of Jeremy Scott’s soleless wrap heels…

    http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lkbhbgxum41qbbjpeo1_500.jpg

  4. guyenne says:

    The Nikes look interesting, but I’m not sure I’d actually want to spend $115 on them, as opposed to the other types of dance pads around (that cost a lot less, iirc).

  5. chrisgo says:

    Man, Roriroars stole my thunder, oh well. Those look cool, but two things bugged me. First, all I could think of was to tuck those damn ribbons in. And secondly, the way they referenced everone as she, guys take yoga too, sigh.

  6. It’s funny, the more I look at these things the more I think Nike is really tapping into some interesting stuff with those sticking-out ribbon ends.
    Like they’re referencing the little girl ballet fantasy image of pointe shoe ribbons wrapped all the way up to the knee with a bow, and a Grecian goddess/Mercury’s ankle wings idea all at the same time.
    And making the price so high for such an unnecessary item just adds to the frou frou silly girly luxury feeling.

    • chrisgo says:

      Yeah, and the overly complicated box with the little compartments for all of the pieces of the shoes.

      • Yes, that fussy little box!
        Turns putting the shoes on into a ritual.
        Kinda like the ritual of putting on pointes. Gets you focused and in the right mindset for class, and kinda imbues a sense of power and importance into the shoe.
        Smart marketing.

  7. I saw those Nike wraps a couple of days ago on another ballet blog and the first thing I thought of was your post about the Nike Pointes product idea.

  8. Jen says:

    Hee! I’ve seen it called Yogalates :)

    The Nike Wraps look like footwear for a ninja ballerina!

  9. Sam says:

    Well, I guess I’m the only one bothered about the toes showing up in those shoes…
    The TOES, people!! The less attractive part or feet, which are nicely disguised in ballet shoes.
    Does that mean I have toes complex??

  10. Pingback: Beginner Ballet Tips: Using Pilates to Strengthen Your Core for Ballet | Adult Ballerina Project

Leave a Reply

