Momma needs new shoes

Friend came over yesterday to visit the baby,
‘Cause, you know, that’s what people do,
And I was holding the little dude on my lap and kind of clapping his feet together, ’cause, you know, baby feet are hilarious and must be played with,
And friend says, “haha! Look how turned out he is!”
And then she says, “oh, that reminds me-“
And goes and gets her purse and starts pulling out ballet slippers and is like,
“-yeah that show I was working on had a big fire sale when it wrapped so I picked these up, you’re like a 7 1/2, 8 right?”
Yay!!!!!!!!!!
Yay, Gentle Reader, yay!
So, the two pairs of Bloch leather full-soles were too big, because Bloch uses their own crazy sizing not based on street shoe size, or at least not based on US street shoe size,
Capezio canvas split soles were a little too small,
And then success! The Sansha Pro 1C leather split soles are just right.
Never tried Sansha before,
I like that the packaging says “Pro” as in not Pro but “Pro”.
Also these come with a little mesh bag. Fancy!
So there. New shoes. Now I just need to fatten this baby up some more, and I’m all ready for class.

20121027-112237.jpg

20121027-112256.jpg
And here’s a shoe and baby photo because YOU KNOW YOU WANT IT.
Also, I just did up this post one-handed over a nursing baby.
Skillz.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in ce n'est pas une mom blog, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Momma needs new shoes

  1. roriroars says:

    Okay, firstly, mad props to you, Ms. AB, for blogging one-handed (with no typos and with pictures!). You are truly a “pro!” No, wait… you are truly a pro. I was holding my friend’s baby the other day and trying to eat a cupcake with the other… very nearly ended up getting frosting all over me and the kid and thought to myself, “Damn, parenting is hard work.” Because clearly parenting is all about cuddling babies and eating cupcakes. Whatever. That story had absolutely no relevance to this whatsoever.

    Secondly, that baby hand is just adorbs. His (ooh, now we have a pronoun! it’s a boy!) fingers are so long! Will be perfect for partnering someday… or something.

    And finally, wooot!!! to new shoes. Sizing is so redonk. I’m also a 7.5-8 US and I usually fit into Bloch slippers in a size 5 (used to be 6.5, but they changed their sizing a few years ago… jerks). So should your friend run into a fire sale again, be sure to tell her to look for Blochs in size 5. I’ve never tried Sanshas, but always wanted to solely for the mesh bag.

    Hope parenthood is treating you well!

    • Ha! “Pro”.
      Parenting is mostly cuddling and eating cupcakes, don’t let anybody tell you different.
      He gets those long fIngers from his Pop. Midwives noticed that right after pronouncing him a 10/10 apgar. (Yeah that was kind of a brag, can’t help it)
      Yeah, that mesh bag really ups the perceived value something fierce

  2. Diane says:

    Oh, how nice to be given new slippers!
    Your baby’s hand is so very darling! I love those tiny, soft fingernails!

    Congratulations also on your ability to multi-task already! That is an important skill, for sure!
    I often wished, when my kids were very small, that a third, telescopic arm and hand would sprout out of my stomach for those many times when two arms and hands were obviously too few.

    Enjoy these days, weeks, months! (even the sleepless nights)
    They go by so fast.

  3. I just got those in canvas. What a great gift!!!

  4. I noticed this last post but I have to say it now: Your baby has exquisite hands. I had to do a double take. Maybe you can put him to work as a baby hand model. Never too young, right?

    In all seriousness, I am so happy for you and your new family! Congrats!!

  5. RainStorm says:

    Loving the new parenting/one-handed-typing skills :)
    How far into the pregnancy did you manage to keep dancing? And how soon do you hope to return? x

    • My last class was back in April, at 3 1/2 months pregnant.
      Might go back December? January? Not sure, will have to see. Definitely want to give myself plenty of time to be all the way recovered and rebuild some stamina before queuing back up for Smirnoff’s barre.

  6. nrupas says:

    When i read your psot, i thought you found ballet style shoes for babies :O
    I have the same shoes!! :) So cool! Happy dancing soon enough – and kisses for the cutest baby hands!

  7. Stephanie says:

    Congrats on your beautiful baby!
    Bloch sizing is crazy or maybe just based on Australian sizes…. :)

  8. Janet says:

    Those are nice new ballet shoes, and can’t complain about the price. Very cute baby AB hand, too. I’ve been tending to newborns of various sizes for many years now. I rarely manage to type accurately and hold the little enthusiast comfortably. Maybe I could take some lessons from you. Hope to see a photo of those cute baby feet soon. They really are amazing.

  9. Nellie says:

    Adorable tiny baby hand!!!

    I have the Sanshas but in canvas, trying to decide how I feel about them still…

  10. Katy says:

    I love Sanshas, keep coming back to them no matter how hard I try to branch out.

    I’m desperate to get my wee man into ballet class (but remembering my baby ballet teaching days, I’m going to wait until he can be trusted not to wee on the floor). We started good toes, naughty toes the other day and on his first trip to the Bloch store (age 1.5) in Covent Garden he surprised me by executing his first attitude penchee.

  11. Yvonne says:

    Beautiful Picture! you must be very happy with the baby now and the new slippers :)

  12. Hector says:

    Free things are nice, but free things that you actually need? Priceless! (hehehe, pun intended)
    I’ve been wearing the Sansha #1 Pro 1C’s since I started ballet August 28th of this year. So far I’ve been really happy with them. Unfortunately, since I wear Sansha size 16 (size 12 US), I have been confined to the canvas shoes. I bought them from Discount Dance Supply, and now they keep sending me catalogs. The awkward part is that their catalogs don’t have a Men’s section… Oh well, had a really nice picture of Misty Copeland from ABT on one of them.

  13. Pingback: Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand we’re back. | Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

