What to wear to the ballet

Well, if you’re the lady three rows ahead of me at ABT’s The Bright Stream last Sunday, that is a ridiculous question, as you are clearly going to wear the most Awesome Outfit Evar:
Heels, shiny shiny pants, and a jacket with giant poufs of feather on the shoulders.
Like, feather poufs as big as your own head!
Duh.
And you’ll be not just applauding wildly but also whooping and hollering! And I might wanna give you a high-five for just doing your thang like that.
But if you’re the Adult Beginner you might wear something more like this:

20110721-073128.jpg

Note: the ankle brace is key. People will see it and ask if you are a dancer.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What to wear to the ballet

  1. robin (mahrobi) says:

    love this.

  2. Acacia says:

    Excellent tip!

  3. papershaker says:

    The last two ballets I went to, I wore the same pale pink fifties vintage dress. It had a boat neck and full full skirt and was darling! Each time I got asked by multiple people if was a ballet dancer. It was one of the greatest joys of my life to reply, ‘Why, yes I am!’ It’s the to the point where I’m not sure if it’s me or the dress. I am going to a ballet on Friday and I’m going to *gasp* wear white. So we shall see if it’s me or the dress!

    • Wow, what a fantastic dress! So fun to wear a full skirt, changes how you maneuver a room in the nicest way.

      • papershaker says:

        I think the extra attitude must have of been some of it! I love wearing 50’s dresses. It brings out something different in me. And crinolines are just so much fun to twirl around in! Like a girl playing dress up.

  4. chrisgo says:

    At first glance of the title, I thought you were referring to what one wears to ballet, not going to the ballet. I’d have thought by now you would know what to wear; leo, tights, shoes, brace…
    Anyway, way to include that ankle brace with your outfit. You could class it up a notch and glue some sequins to it like Michael Jackson’s glove. Just thinking.

    • You are correct, sir: I’ve mostly got a handle on what to wear to class. Mostly. I mean, sometimes I have Outfit Regret during class. Like when I’m wearing a halter-style leotard down around my waist.
      Hahahahahahaaaaaa!
      Ahem.
      Anyway, good call with the sequins, although in this case I was happy with the way the white brace and the pearls corresponded.

  5. Don says:

    Cool blog. I have an adult ‘taster’ lesson with the ENB next month. I’m 29 and an Army veteran.
    :-D

  6. jenniferc says:

    i went to the ballet once in crutches, so many asked me if i was a dancer :) it totally made my evening!

Leave a Reply

