Who’s a good girl? Is it you? Is it you!

When I was a kid, my parents enrolled me in soccer.
For several reasons, including 1) convenience: my brother was in soccer, so, you know, only one car trip, and 2) prevention: they were worried that I would be fat.
What? Can’t a girl like food?! Sheesh!
3) Lessons in Fear!
Ok that last one was an unintentional side effect.
So, soccer.
I hated soccer!
Omygawd.
It combined two of the most terrifying, least predictable things in known space: boys and balls.
Ok I guess there was one good thing about soccer. That smell. That hot, mowed grass smell. You know? A field mowed early in the morning, before it got too humid out, and then the groundskeeper went inside for a cold one and all the cut grass just baked away alllllllllll afternoon.
That there is a good smell.
Ok and maybe there was another good thing:
Soccer practice established an Exercise Habit.
That twitchy feeling the Adult Beginner gets when like a timer goes off and (ding!) Bitches, where my running shoes at?! Get out the way, it’s time for a jog!!
Mr. Adult beginner doesn’t have that timer. He never did any organized sports. He is one of the most energetic people I know, but he doesn’t have that need to dedicate time to exercise in a regular way. There’s no ‘oh man its been three days, maybe I can get a run in tonight.’
Therefor:
Parents Of The World: set the damned timer already! Enroll your kid in something physical! Something they don’t hate if you can, but, you know, Something!!!
Its like the Dog Whisperer says, we need Exercise, Discipline, and Affection. In that order. This allows us to feel calm. I know, I know, he’s talking about dogs and submission to a pack leader but it goes for peeps too. Minus the submission thing. Mostly minus.
Ballet is exercise, discipline, and affection. In that order.
Tendu!
Now tendu better!
Who’s a good girl?!

20110422-075227.jpg

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark!, the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who’s a good girl? Is it you? Is it you!

  1. Ballet news says:

    Keep the positive spirit! Ballet is so worth the effort. Whatever age!

  2. OMG! The Dog Whisperer reference is too much – I have to send this to my husband!

  3. 30somethingfauxballerina says:

    I will tendu all day long if someone throws cookies at me.

Leave a Reply

